March 8 we mark International Women’s Day and it is now 32 years since Rotary International changed the constitution to enable women to join.  District 9910 was the first in New Zealand to have a female Governor and now, despite only being 27% of our membership, a third of our district roles are filled by women.
When Sandra McKersey was appointed Governor in 2001, she was one of two across New Zealand and Australia. Almost ten years later, Rotary Whangarei South again provided our next female Governor. When Maxine Neighbour took on the role in 2010, she was one of three female Governors in New Zealand. A decade later, Elaine Mead (Rotary Westhaven) is our District Governor. Eleven of our clubs and satellites have female Presidents and four of our clubs have a female leadership team in the club officer roles of:
Whangarei CityRobyn BanksReo SmithLynley Summerlee
Whangarei SouthAnne GrbinMaxine Neighbour Tracey Rissetto
New LynnPauline BishopMaxine CooperLinda Potauaine
Port VilaRed BenjaminSally CollardEllice Haggai
Some other ‘stats’ about female Rotarians in our district:
First female NZ District Governor - Sandra McKersey (Whangarei South) 2001-02
First female member - Robyn Banks (Whangarei) 1988
  according to RI database Gillian Dawson (Mt Albert) 1 July 1989
  according to RI database Lynette Simmons (North Harbour) 3 July 1989
  according to RI database Diana Ward (North Harbour) 3 July 1989

Longest-serving female Rotarian - Robyn Banks (Whangarei City) 1988 – 2021
  according to RI database Carol Caulfield (East Coast Bays) 1991 – 2021
First female President - Anne Stewart (Three Kings) and Carol Kirkup (Whangaparaoa) 1994-95
First female charter President - Elaine Mead (Westhaven) 1995-96